Christian Doppler Laboratory

for selective recovery of minor metals using innovative process concepts

Head:

Priv.-Doz. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Stefan Steinlechner

The central goal of the CD Laboratory is the development of new raw material sources of special metals, which are primarily used in the high-tech industry. The research focuses on the little-studied industrial material flows of the metallurgical industry, such as intermediates, by-products, and residual materials. The development of new sources together with its extraction strategy improves the security of supply in Europe on the one hand, and the avoidance of primary mining also makes an important contribution to the conservation of resources.
For this purpose, methods for determining the distribution of metals in the phases and compounds that occur are developed and applied, and the possibilities of influencing the behaviour in hydro- and pyrometallurgical processes is investigated. The low concentration of target metals compared to the dominant matrix represents a major challenge and implies several possible influencing factors on the behaviour of the metal in the metallurgical extraction steps.

CDG geschickt P78A3035.jpg

RESEARCH

The laboratory is focused on the development of methods to determine the behaviour of special metals in metallurgical process steps. The findings are applied to influence and manipulate those specific metals to achieve higher extraction performances.

Computer programming often shortened to
CDG geschickt P78A3050.jpg

DEVELOPMENT AND IMPLEMENTATION OF ALGORITHMS

The Christian Doppler Laboratory is engaged in the development and implementation of algorithms for the research of recovery methods for special metals. This is intended to achieve a deeper understanding of thermodynamic and kinetic test and simulation results by evaluating multidimensional input and output variables.

IN-SITU-OBSERVATION OF PHASE TRANSITIONS

A new innovative method which is used in the field of simulation of metallurgical high-temperature processes is the insitu observation with a special heating device for scanning electron microscope. This allows the analysis in realtime of phase-formation, transformation, and the distribution of metals in certain compounds. This gives us advanced possibilities in the field of metallurgical research and offers unique insights into ongoing processes.

 
BMDW_Logo_srgb.png
ANDRITZ_Logo&Claim_blue_RGB.jpg
voest.png
output-onlinepngtools.png
arp.jpg

We thank our funding and industry partners!

 

Contact Details

Franz-Josef-Str. 18, 8700 Leoben, Austria

+43 3842 402 5254

businessman pressing phone button, compa

Christian Doppler Labor

für selektive Rückgewinnung von Spezialmetallen mittels innovativer Prozesskonzepte

Leitung:

Priv.-Doz. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Stefan Steinlechner

Das übergeordnete Ziel des CD-Labors ist die Erschließung sekundärer Rohstoffquellen für Spezialmetalle, welche vorrangig Einsatz in der Hightech-Industrie finden. Im Fokus der Forschung stehen dabei die noch wenig untersuchten industriellen Stoffströme der metallurgischen Industrie, wie Zwischen- und Nebenprodukte und auch anfallende Reststoffe. Durch die Erschließung neuer Quellen wird einerseits die Versorgungssicherheit in Europa verbessert und andererseits durch die Vermeidung des primären Abbaus zusätzlich ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Ressourcenschonung geleistet.
Hierzu werden Methoden zur Bestimmung der Verteilung der Metalle in den auftretenden Phasen und Verbindungen entwickelt und angewandt, sowie die gezielte Beeinflussung des Verhaltens in hydro- als auch pyrometallurgischen Prozessen untersucht. Die geringe Konzentration im Vergleich zur dominierenden Matrix stellt dabei eine wesentliche Herausforderung dar und impliziert eine Reihe an möglichen Einflussfaktoren auf das Verhalten der Zielmetalle in den metallurgischen Extraktionsschritten.


 

CDG geschickt P78A3035.jpg

FORSCHUNGSANSATZ

Zum einen ist das CD-Labor auf die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Beschreibung des Verhaltens von Spezialmetallen in metallurgischen Prozessschritten fokussiert. Des Weiteren soll die gezielte Beeinflussung des Verhaltens der Metalle zur Extraktion untersucht werden.

Computer programming often shortened to
CDG geschickt P78A3050.jpg

ALGORITHMENUNTERSTÜTZTE FORSCHUNGSMETHODEN

Das Christian Doppler Labor befasst sich mit der Entwicklung und Implementierung von Algorithmen zur Erforschung von Rückgewinnungsmethoden für Spezialmetalle. Hierdurch soll ein tieferes Verständnis von thermodynamischen und kinetischen Versuchs- und Simulationsergebnissen durch die Auswertung multidimensionaler Ein- und Ausgangsgrößen   erlangt werden.

IN-SITU-OBSERVATION VON PHASENUMWANDLUNGEN

Eine innovative In-Situ-Methode stellt beispielsweise die Simulation von metallurgischen Hochtemperaturprozessen am Raster-Elektronen-Mikroskop unter Zuhilfenahme eines speziellen Heiztisches dar. Diese erlaubt eine Analyse in Echtzeit von Phasenbildungen, deren Transformationen sowie die Verteilung von Metallen in unterschiedlichen Verbindungen, wodurch ein einzigartiger Einblick in die Prozesse der Metallurgie möglich wird.

 
BMDW_Logo_srgb.png
ANDRITZ_Logo&Claim_blue_RGB.jpg
voest.png
output-onlinepngtools.png
arp.jpg

Wir danken unseren Fördergebern und Firmenpartnern!

 

KONTAKTDETAILS

Franz-Josef-Str. 18, 8700 Leoben, Austria

+43 3842 402 5254

businessman pressing phone button, compa

©2020 Christian Doppler Labor für selektive Rückgewinnung von Spezialmetallen mittels innovativer Prozesskonzepte