RESEARCH

The laboratory is focused on the development of methods to determine the behaviour of special metals in metallurgical process steps. The findings are applied to influence and manipulate those specific metals to achieve higher extraction performances.

Computer programming often shortened to
CDG geschickt P78A3050.jpg

DEVELOPMENT AND IMPLEMENTATION OF ALGORITHMS

The Christian Doppler Laboratory is engaged in the development and implementation of algorithms for the research of recovery methods for special metals. This is intended to achieve a deeper understanding of thermodynamic and kinetic test and simulation results by evaluating multidimensional input and output variables.

IN SITU OBSERVATION OF PHASE TRANSITIONS

A new innovative method which is used in the field of simulation of metallurgical high-temperature processes is the insitu observation with a special heating device for scanning electron microscope. This allows the analysis in realtime of phase-formation, transformation, and the distribution of metals in certain compounds. This gives us advanced possibilities in the field of metallurgical research and offers unique insights into ongoing processes.

 

©2020 Christian Doppler Laboratory for selective recovery
of minor metals using innovative process concepts

FORSCHUNGSANSATZ

Zum einen ist die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Beschreibung des Verhaltens der Spezialmetalle in metallurgischen Prozessschritten fokussiert. Zum anderen soll die gezielte Beeinflussung des Verhaltens der Metalle zur Extraktion untersucht werden.

Computer programming often shortened to
CDG geschickt P78A3050.jpg

ALGORITHMENUNTERSTÜTZTE FORSCHUNGSMETHODEN

Das Christian Doppler Labor befasst sich mit der Entwicklung und Implementierung von Algorithmen zur Erforschung von Rückgewinnungsmethoden für Spezialmetalle. Hierdurch soll ein tieferes Verständnis von thermodynamischen und kinetischen Versuchs- und Simulationsergebnissen durch die Auswertung multidimensionaler Ein- und Ausgangsgrößen   erlangt werden.

IN-SITU-OBSERVATION VON PHASENUMWANDLUNGEN

Eine innovative In-Situ-Methode stellt beispielsweise die Simulation von metallurgischen Hochtemperaturprozessen am Raster-Elektronen-Mikroskop unter Zuhilfenahme eines speziellen Heiztisches dar. Diese erlaubt eine Analyse in Echtzeit von Phasenbildungen, deren Transformationen sowie die Verteilung von Metallen in unterschiedlichen Verbindungen, wodurch ein einzigartiger Einblick in die Prozesse der Metallurgie möglich wird.